Chair Holder

Giancarlo Corsetti (Ph.D. Yale, 1992) is Pierre Werner Chair at the European University Institute. From 2010 to 2021, he has been Professor of Macroeconomics at Cambridge University, fellow of Clare College and director of the Cambridge INET Institute. Prior to this, he taught at the European University Institute in Florence and at the Universities of Rome III, Yale and Bologna. He is a leading scholar in international economics and open macro with pioneering contributions on currency, financial and sovereign crises, monetary and fiscal policy in open economy, and the international transmission and global imbalances. His work has been published by the American Economic Review, the Journal of European Economic Association, the Journal of Monetary Economics, the Quarterly Journal of Economics, and the Review of Economic Studies. He has been a long-serving co-editor of the Journal of International Economics. He is a consultant at the European Central Bank and the Bank of England and a regular visiting professor in central banks and international institutions. He is research fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research, where he served as co-director of the International Macroeconomic Programme between 2004 and 2015. He is a member the European Economic Association, where he served as a member of the council, and Program Chairman of the 2007 Annual Congress in Budapest.


Previous Chair Holders

Advisory Board

Fellows and Visitors

Past fellows and visitors:

  • Thomas Lépinay (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) – Max Weber Fellow,  2021-2022
  • Francesco Molteni (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) – Max Weber Fellow,  2016-2019
  • Chima Simpson-Bell (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) – Research Associate, 2018
  • Joao Brogueira De Sousa (Department of Economics, EUI) – Research Assistant, 2016-2017
  • Mauro Lanati (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) – Max Weber Fellow, 2016-2017
  • Thomas Beukers (The Netherlands’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs) – Jean Monnet Fellow, 2016-2017
  • Armin Steinbach (Max-Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods) – Jean Monnet Fellow, 2016-2017